Kibblewhite Defends Longboard Title at Papamoa

Above: Thomas Kibblewhite.  Photo: Luke Larking

Auckland surfer Thomas Kibblewhite (Red Beach) defended his Men’s Longboard Division title at the Barrett Homes New Zealand Longboard and SUP Open held at Papamoa Beach on Saturday (17th February).

Kibblewhite had not competed since his 2017 win at the event but slipped straight back into top form throughout the day making his way to the final and then posting a 15.33 point heat total for the win.

It is the third time Kibblewhite has won the event in the past five years.

The surf remained clean for the majority of the day with variable winds and a strong 1.0m – 1.5m swell in front of Papamoa Domain before the sea breeze increased late in the afternoon.

The final saw Kibblewhite defeat Ohope surfer Dylan Barnfield for a second time in as many heats with a 15.33 point heat total compared with Barnfield’s 12.67.  Barnfield himself has been absent from competition for several years but his class was evident all day, particularly in the semifinals where he and Kibblewhite along with local Owen Barnes surfed a high-scoring heat that comprised several major lead changes.

Finishing third in the final was National Champion and New Zealand representative Zen Wallis (Piha) with Whakatane surfer Joe Stewart finishing in fourth place.

Above: Ollie Houghton.  Winner of the Starboard SUP Surf and King of the Waves. Photo: Luke Larking

Waihi Beach surfer Alexis Poulter claimed the title in the Women’s Longboard after a tough four way battle in the final.  Poulter, a double finalist after competing in the Women’s Stand Up Paddleboard Final, sealed her victory on her last wave surfing to a 9.03 point total heat score.  She defeated New Zealand representative Gabi Paul (Piha) who finished second ahead of Kiri Binnersley (Mnt) in third and Sunny Yoshida (Rag) in fourth.

Auckland’s Ollie Houghton (Takapuna) claimed the double with the Starboard Men’s Stand Up Paddleboard Surfing Division and King of the Waves Race. 

Houghton made up for a semifinal exit at the National Championships in January with the win, posting a 12.5 point heat total in the final.  Houghton defeated Sean Hovell (Gis) who challenged for the win on several occasions but could not find the speed or match the precision of the Takapuna teenager.  Whangamata surfer Karlos Aarsen finished in third place ahead of local Mark Jones.

The untouchable Stella Smith (Gis) claimed her second win of the season in the Starboard Women’s Stand Up Paddleboard Division.  Smith posted 12.4 points in the final with her aggressive approach.  Alexis Poulter could not secure the double but finished in second place ahead of Kaikoura surfer Lucy Te Moananui in third and Eva Petrikova (Mnt) in fourth.

The Over 40s and 50s Longboard Divisions were claimed by defending champions Owen Barnes (Mnt) and Mark Hoyle (Orewa) respectively.

The Barrett Homes hospitality was on display all day for competitors, spectators and the Papamoa community to enjoy with a shaded family-friendly hang zone, free food and beverages all day and the ‘board container’ to store everyone’s equipment.  Post event, everyone was entertained at the Papamoa Tavern.

Please see below for results from the 2018 Barrett Homes NZ Longboard and SUP Open completed at Papamoa Beach on Saturday 17th February.

Barrett Homes Men’s Longboard Division Round 1
Heat 1
Owen Barnes (Mnt), 14, 1, Bryn Marshall (Mnt), 9.04, 2, Mike Bryant (Mnt), 3.53, 3, James Percy (Mnt), N/S
Heat 2
Zen Wallis (Piha), 10.8, 1, Joe Stewart (Ohope), 8.36, 2, Todd Rowan (Mnt), 5.5, 3
Heat 3
Thomas Kibblewhite (Auck), 15.1, 1, Dylan Barnfield (Ohope), 14, 2, Brent Entwhistle (Mnt), 5.23, 3, Ben Bridgman - Raison (Mnt), 4.13, 4

Barrett Homes Men’s Longboard Division Semifinals
Heat 1
Zen Wallis (Piha), 14.6, 1, Joe Stewart (Ohope), 9.17, 2, Bryn Marshall (Mnt), 8.8, 3
Heat 2 
Thomas Kibblewhite (Auck), 14.07, 1, Dylan Barnfield (Ohope), 13.7, 2, Owen Barnes (Mnt), 12.6, 3

Barrett Homes Men’s Longboard Division Final
Thomas Kibblewhite (Auck), 15.33, 1, Dylan Barnfield (Ohope), 12.67, 2, Zen Wallis (Piha), 11.03, 3, Joe Stewart (Ohope), 9.4, 4

Barrett Homes Women’s Longboard Division Semifinals
Heat 1
Gabi Paul (Piha), 11.90, 1, Kiri Binnersley (Mnt), 8.17, 2, Hannah Morley (Gis), 6.70, 3
Heat 2 
Alexis Poulter (Rag), 7.86, 1, Sunny Yoshida (Rag), 7.67, 2, Margurite Vujcich (Hbay), 1.17, 3

Barrett Homes Women’s Longboard Division Final
Alexis Poulter (Rag), 9.03, 1, Gabi Paul (Piha), 4.96, 2, Kiri Binnersley (Mnt), 4.7, 3, Sunny Yoshida (Rag), 3.24, 4

Over 40s Longboard Division Semifinals
Heat 1
Owen Barnes (Mnt), 1, Mal Brady (Mnt), 2
Heat 2 
Wyn Hoogerbrugger (Auck), 10.67, 1, Matt Hands (Mnt), 8.26, 2, Graham Helps (Mnt), 4.86, 3

Over 40s Longboard Division Final
Owen Barnes (Mnt), 14.5, 1, Wyn Hoogerbrugger (Auck), 11.9, 2, Matt Hands (Mnt), 6.1, 3, Mal Brady (Mnt), 6, 4

Over 50s Longboard Division Semifinals
Heat 1
Mark Hoyle (Orewa), 10.9, 1, Mike Thomson (Rag), 7.93, 2, Garth Falconer (Auck), 5.26, 3, Margurite Vujcich (Hbay), 2.7, 4
Heat 2
Brian Young (Orewa), 12.3, 1, Brian Moore (TGA), 10.4, 2, Mal Brady (Mnt), 7.21, 3, Michael Gray (Auck), 5.1, 4

Over 50s Longboard Division Final
Mark Hoyle (Orewa), 12.6, 1, Brian Young (Orewa), 9.27, 2, Mike Thomson (Rag), 7.17, 3, Brian Moore (TGA), 4.3, 4

Starboard Men’s SUP Division Semifinals
Heat 1
Sean Hovell (Gis), 13.8, 1, Karl Aarsen (WGM), 12.1, 2, Shane Timms (Mnt), 6.43, 3
Heat 2 
Ollie Houghton (Auck), 14.8, 1, Mark Jones (TGA), 7.33, 2, Gavin Houghton (Auck), 6.03, 3, Gary Smith (Gis), 3.89, 4

Starboard Men’s SUP Division Final
Ollie Houghton (Auck), 12.5, 1, Sean Hovell (Gis), 11.2, 2, Karl Aarsen (WGM), 8.76, 3, Mark Jones (TGA), 7.6, 4

Women’s SUP Division Final
Stella Smith (Gis), 12.4, 1, Alexis Poulter (Waihi Bch), 9.2, 2, Lucy Te Moananui (Kaik), 8.46, 3, Eva Petrikova (Mnt), 2.63, 4

Logger Expression Session
Thomas Kibblewhite, 1, Dylan Barnfield, 2, Zen Wallis (Piha), 3, Bryn Marshall, 4

Starboard King of the Waves
1, Ollie Houghton (Auck), 20:12, 2, Sean Hovell (Gis), 20:34, 3, Jeremy Stephenson (Auck), 23:04, 4, Gavin Houghton (Auck), 25:24